Deep Space @ Goethe Institut Madrid

Installation, Lesung und Podiumsdiskussion im öffentlichen Raum zusammen mit Miquel Gonzalez, Fotograf, Emilio Silva, Journalist und Prof. Gutmaro Gomez Bravo, am Goethe-Institut in Madrid.

Eröffnung, Ausstellung, Vortrag, Diskussion
Deep Space
19:00-21:00, 5 juni 2019

@ Goethe Institut, Madrid

Recovered Memory

Prof. Elizabeth Sikiaridi und Prof. Frans Vogelaar präsentieren das Projekt “Deep Space: Das Valle de los Caídos neu signalisieren” und trägt zum Podium “Memoria perdida – memoria recuperada” bei, das er zusammen mit dem Fotografen Miquel Gonzalez, dem Journalisten, diskutiert Emilio Silva und der Historiker Prof. Gutmaro Gomez Bravo (Zeitgeschichte, Universidad Complutense de Madrid).

Auf die Podiumsdiskussion folgte die Eröffnung der Fotoausstellung „Memoria perdida” von Miquel Gonzalez und der öffentlichen Rauminstallation “Deep Space: Re-signifying Valle de los Caídos” durch Hybrid Space Lab.

“Der internationale Workshop „Deep Space: zur Neu-Ausrichtung des Tals der Gefallenen“, im Oktober 2018 vom Hybrid Space Lab in Madrid durchgeführt, hatte das Ziel, eine Neubestimmung dieses hoch kontroversen franquistischen Monuments anzuregen. Als Teil des langfristigen künstlerischen Forschungsprogramms „Deep Space“ des Hybrid Space Labs, das sich der Erinnerungskultur sowie -politik und umstrittenen Gedenkstätten im digitalen Zeitalter zuwendet, widmete sich dieser Workshop kreativen Prozessen und digitalen Tools. Indem er das Potential an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst, Technologie sowie historischen und wissenschaftlichen Studien freilegte, ergründete dieser Workshop die verwobenen, historisch schmerzbeladenen Bedeutungen dieses Monuments und entfaltete Möglichkeitsräume für diesen Ort, sobald Francos sterbliche Überreste daraus entfernt und umgebettet worden sind.

Der Workshop hatte als speziellen Fokus die vernetzten digitalen und physischen Werkzeuge, die eine Transformation eines Ortes ermöglichen, ohne ihn wirklich physisch anzutasten. Diese Werkzeuge würden auch das Einbeziehen bisher unterdrückter Stimmen im Sinne eines polyphonen Monuments unterstützen, wodurch ein Gegengewicht zum totalitären Narrativ des Ortes gesetzt werden würde und damit den Weg von der Anerkennung zur Aussöhnung ebnen könnte. Diese kreative, innovative und interdisziplinäre Arbeitsweise, wie sie im Workshop ihren Ausdruck fand, trägt zu einem Prozess einer integrativen kollektiven Erinnerungsarbeit bei.

Im Goethe-Institut Madrid wird an der Außenfassade des Gebäudes die erarbeitete Workshop-Grafik des Tals der Gefallenen präsentiert. Dazu gibt es eine begleitende kostenlose Broschüre auf Deutsch und Spanisch mit ausführlichen Informationen.”
Goethe Institut

Deep Space @ Goethe Institut Madrid

Public space installation, lecture and panel discussion  together with Miquel Gonzalez, Photographer, Emilio Silva, Journalist and Prof. Gutmaro Gomez Bravo at the Goethe Institut in Madrid.

Opening, Exhibition, Lecture, Discussion
Lost Memory – Recovered Memory
Deep Space
19:00-21:00, 5 June 2019

@ Goethe Institut
Madrid

Recovered Memory

Prof. Elizabeth Sikiaridi and Prof. Frans Vogelaar are presenting the project “Deep Space: Re-signifying Valle de los Caídos” and contributing to the panel “Lost Memory – Recovered Memory” („Memoria perdida – memoria recuperada“), discussing together with the photographer Miquel Gonzalez, the journalist Emilio Silva and the historian Prof. Gutmaro Gomez Bravo (Contemporary History, Universidad Complutense de Madrid).

The panel discussion is followed by the opening of the photo exhibition „Memoria perdida” of Miquel Gonzalez and of the public space installation “Deep Space: Re-signifying Valle de los Caídos” by Hybrid Space Lab.

“The International Workshop” Deep Space: Reorientation of the Valley of the Fallen “, carried out by the Hybrid Space Lab in Madrid in October 2018, aimed to stimulate a redefinition of this highly controversial Francoist monument. Part of the Hybrid Space Lab’s long-running Deep Space artistic research program, which focuses on remembrance culture and politics and controversial memorial sites in the digital age, this workshop explored creative processes and digital tools. Revealing the potential at the intersection of art, technology, and historical and scholarly studies, this workshop explored the intricate, historically painful meanings of this monument and unfolded spaces of possibility for the site once Franco’s remains have been removed and reburied.

The workshop focused on the networked digital and physical tools that enable transformation of a place without physically touching it. These tools would also support the incorporation of previously suppressed voices in the sense of a polyphonic monument, counterbalancing the place’s totalitarian narrative, thereby paving the way from recognition to reconciliation. This creative, innovative and interdisciplinary way of working, as expressed in the workshop, contributes to a process of integrative collective remembrance work.

At the Goethe-Institut Madrid, the elaborated workshop graphics of the Valley of the Fallen will be presented on the outside facade of the building. There is an accompanying free brochure in German and Spanish with detailed information.“
Goethe Institut